Conflict by Enneagram Type

The Enneagram is my favorite personality test. The Road Back to You by Ian Chron outlines the Enneagram and details of each type if you want to dive into more details. Rather than 16 different personality types with Meyers Briggs, the Enneagram has 9 personality types. Instead of feeling stuck, each type has healthiness levels as well as a wing-type that show you areas of growth within each type. For myself and others, the Enneagram fits and relates better to individuals than other personality types.

To learn your Enneagram type, you can search for Enneagram personality tests online or read The Road Back to You by Ian Chron.

Each type handles conflict differently:

Type 1 (The Perfectionist): Ones can be short-tempered and judgmental with strong opinions. They are assertive and logical when facing conflict.

Type 2 (The Helper): Twos do not want to be taken for granted and can be upset when their contributions are unnoticed. They fear that conflict could hurt the relationship between themselves and the other person. Twos are very empathetic and feel the pain and perspectives of others.

Type 3 (The Achiever): Threes attempt to avoid conflict and want to be seen as highly successful but can get angry when upset with another person. They are great at problem-solving and take practical steps towards the future.

Type 4 (The Romantic): Fours can accuse others and get angry and emotional if conflict involves them. When conversations and conflict are real and non-accusing, they can listen for extended periods of time.

Type 5 (The Investigator): Fives will withdraw and hide concerns to avoid conflict. They are extremely logical and solve issues with self-reflection.

Type 6 (The Loyalist): Sixes are anxious around conflict and can create it by challenging motives or actions. They possess a deep desire to resolve conflict and handle feelings and facts fairly and honestly.

Type 7 (The Enthusiast): Sevens avoid conflict and try to avoid tough conversations with jokes or by changing the subject. They are great at bringing new perspectives and points of view to a challenge.

Type 8 (The Challenger): Eights address conflict head-on and take the necessary steps to resolve an issue. They will back-up those who are loyal to them. Eights can be seen as aggressive or make others feel intimidated in tough conversations.

Type 9 (The Peacemaker): Nines are great at listening and mediating a conversation between others. They try to avoid conflict and suppress feelings and opinions to keep a relationship intact.

These are the general conflict styles for each type. Your style of conflict may vary from that of your Enneagram type.

This is an excerpt from my upcoming book, Speak Up. You can subscribe to my email list to stay up-to-date as the launch gets closer:

I appreciate you.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close